3rd Philippine Graphic Fiction Awards for prose, comics & short film

Stay informed on our latest news!

Subscribe to Adobo Magazine Online feed

Fans and dreamers alike descended at the Rockwell Tent last March 17 to see the winners of the 3rd Philippine Graphic Fiction Awards, as well as its co-founder, Neil Gaiman.

The awards show was conceived five years ago when Fully Booked owner Jaime Daez invited the multi-awarded novelist, graphic fiction author and screenwriter to Manila. Together, they drew up the plans for a competition that would encourage Filipino writers and artists to create science fiction and fantasy that would be at par with the best in the world.

Daez takes care of planning, logistics and execution; Gaiman puts up the prize money, and brings in his own hefty star power to the project.

At the press conference, Gaiman noted that this year's winners (which, for the first time, include filmmakers) had "a very solidly Filipino voice. No one speaks with an American or UK accent."

They also presented the Philippine Graphic/Fiction Anthology, a compedium of the winners of the last three years, as well as fiction from selected entrants.

Here are the winners of the three categories:

1st Place: "A Kind of Flotsam" by Christelle Rhodamae Mariano
2nd Place: "Filipina: The Super Maid" by Irene Carolina A. Sarmiento
3rd Place: (Tie) "Cherry Clubbing" by Kenneth Yu and "Remembrance" by Dean Alfar

People’s Choice
1st Place: "Filipina: The Super Maid" by Irene Carolina A. Sarmiento
2nd Place: "A Kind of Flotsam" by Christelle Rhodamae Mariano
3rd Place: "The Street Child and the Dwarf" by Diabelle Joy M. Pazcoguin

1st Place: No winner  (winner "I See" by Manuel Abrera was disqualified before the show)
2nd Place: "Douglas" by Genevieve Go
3rd Place: "(Love) at Last Sight" by Heubert Khan Michael
People’s Choice
1st Place: "Hunger" by Jeremiah D. Faustino and Norman Jim Faustino
2nd Place: "Raisinhead: A Tale of a Modern-Day Tiyanak" by Christian Oliver A. Cruz
3rd Place: "Traffick" by Alarice A. Francisco
1st place: No winner
2nd Place: "Kumot ng Panaginip" by  Jedd Chris P. Dumaguina
3rd Place: "Squatters from Mars" by Rommel Sales

People’s Choice
1st Place: "Kumot ng Panaginip" by Jedd Chris P. Dumaguina
2nd Place: "Anak ng Tikbalang" by Desiree Ann C. Samson
3rd Place: "Embrace" by Ron Sapinoso