Mediamen recognized at DOST Gawad Scriba Award

Stay informed on our latest news!

Subscribe to Adobo Magazine Online feed

 MANILA, AUGUST 21, 2013 - The Department of Science and Technology recently held an expo at the SMX Convention Center, showcasing the works of the scientific community, which also saw an awarding of mediamen from print, TV, radio and digital who have made a significant contribution to the field. 

The annual Gawad Sciba awards, formerly known as DOST Media Award recognizes communicators who are dedicated with information dissemination of Philippine science and technology.
Panahon TV executive producer Donna May Lina-Flavier accepted the DOST Gawad Scriba Award for the Professional Category for Television.This is the second award that Panahon TV received even before celebrating its first year of establishment. The first award was a Wind Vane Award that was granted in March 2013 by the Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA).
“Accuracy and consistency is what Panahon.TV delivering daily.  In the field of weather reporting, Panahon.TV is changing Philippine Television programming by airing the weather report first thing in the morning.   Our goal here is for Filipinos to wake up in the morning and make it their habit to check the weather news so that they can better plan their day and week,” said Flavier.
TJ Dimacali, GMA News Online's Science and Technology editor, was awarded for the first time with the Gawad Scriba Award for Science Communicators in the Cyber category. He was known as the only Filipino who wrote about the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN)’s new ‘god particle’-like boson.
“I would like to think that I was awarded for more than just my writing, because I honestly spend much more of my time editing and curating GMA News Online's SciTech page. Internal metrics have shown that it's the fastest-growing news section on our website, and it's one of the few in the country to handle science as well as tech news,”
commented Dimacali.
Paul Icamina as called up for the Print category. He is a contributor of business news title Malaya. Prior his career at the publication, he was a special reports editor at the Manila Times Language Institute Inc, and a news writer at All Headline News Corp.
The DOST Scriba award for Radio was Dr. Custer Deocaris. Deocaris is a scientist, the program producer and 
host of Radyo Agila, which aims to be an instrument to transform the science scientific culture in the country and make Science accessible to every Filipino.